VILLA’S

History

Villa Depasta is a historical place, built and built in 1871 with the coat of arms of the family of Nikolaos Depastas, a professor of ancient Greek history at Syros Island and Sifnos high school. With his wife Moschoula Depasta, born Chanoutsou, Nikolaos Depastas, a professor of ancient Greek history at the Syros and Sifnos high school, had five children.

In order of birth, the children are Giannis, Maria, Antonis, Apostolos and Poppi Depasta. All the children of the family have studied classical Greek and have a knowledge of the ancient Greek language which their father and grandfather Nikolaos Depastas respected highly.

To honor her paternal family, her daughter Mona Moschoula Depasta – the undersigned – has set a goal:

1-To sustain the paternal house of the family Depasta via the site www.villadepasta.com by renting it to families of tourists who appreciate the summer of the beautiful island of Sifnos.

And

2-To embellish the Cycladic tradition of his house thanks to his specialization in the Art of Sketching and Painting in collaboration with the Fine Arts of Athens, as well as his excellent training of the Art of the 2 artists and educators , Mr. Kostas Pappas and Mr. Konstantinos Esslin.

A

Hero

The third son, in relation to the order of birth, Antonis Depastas was an officer of the Greek Navy and was a radio operator in the Second World War.

But during a fight, his torpedo ship was hit by an enemy (Japanese) submarine in 1944.

The name of Andonis Depastas, son of Nikolaos Depastas is engraved on a commemorative column on the Heroes’ Square in Apollonia, Sifnos.

MY

Father

The fourth child in relation to the order of birth, Apostolos Depastas, my father, studied at the Faculty of Economics of the University of Athens. During the Second World War he served in the Greek Navy and participated in the Resistance Marine Secret. He was honored by the leader of the Allied Forces of the Middle East.

From 1955 to 1982, he set up a major Marine Company as CEO (Giannis Karras Shipping SA). In 1964, commissioned by the Greek government, he carried out a study on which the Maritime policy of successive Governments was based to this day.

He died 92 years old, from 1919-2011 and was lucky with his wife Evanthia Depasta born Vasilatou, to give birth to a daughter, Mona Moschoula Depasta and to enjoy the birth of a grandson Apostolos Koustas, son Dimitrios Koustas and Moschoula (Mona) Depasta.

(More history coming soon..)

L’HISTOIRE

De la villa

La Villa Depasta est un endroit historique car elle a été construite et créée  en 1871 avec les armoiries de la famille de Nikolaos Depastas, professeur d’histoire grecque ancienne au lycée de l’île de Syros et de Sifnos. Avec sa femme Moschoula Depastas, née Chanoutsou, Nikolaos Depastas, professeur d’histoire grecque ancienne au lycée de Syros et de Sifnos a eu cinq enfants.

En ordre de naissance, les enfants sont Giannis, Maria, Antonis, Apostolos et Poppi Depasta. Tous les enfants de la famille ont suivi des études de grec classique et de connaissance de la langue grecque ancienne auxquels leur père et mon grand père Nikolaos Depastas donnèrent une grande importance.

Sa fille Mona Moschoula Depastas- la soussignée – pour honorer sa famille paternelle Depasta a instauré un objectif bon et saint :

1-De maintenir la maison Paternelle de la famille Depasta via le site www.villadepasta.com  en la louant à des familles de touristes qui apprécient l’été de la belle île de Sifnos.

Et

2-D’embellir la tradition Cycladique de sa maison grâce a sa spécialisation dans l’Art du Croquis et de la Peinture en collaboration avec les Beaux-Arts d’Athènes, ainsi qu’a sa formation excellente de l’Art des 2 artistes et éducateurs, messieurs Kostas Pappas et M. Konstantinos Esslin.

Un

Héros

Le troisième fils, par rapport à l’ordre de naissance, Antonis Depastas était officier de la Marine Grecque et a accompli la fonction d’operateur de radio dans la 2eme Guerre Mondiale.

Mais durant un combat, son navire torpilleur a été percuté par un sous-marin ennemi (japonais) en 1944.

Le nom de Andonis Depastas, fils de Nikolaos Depastas est gravé sur une colonne commémorative sur la place des Héros à Apollonia, Sifnos.

MON

Père

Le quatrième enfant par rapport à l’ordre de naissance, Apostolos Depastas, mon père, a étudié à la Faculté d’ Économie de l’Université d’Athènes. Durant la 2eme Guerre mondiale il a servi dans la Marine Grecque et a participé à la Resistance Marine Secrète. Il a été honoré par le chef des Forces Alliées du Moyen-Orient.

De1956 a 1982, il a monté une Compagnie Maritime importante en tant que PDG (Giannis Karras Shipping SA). En 1964, commandé par le gouvernement Grec, il a mené une étude sur laquelle était basée la politique Maritime des Gouvernements successifs jusqu’à ce jour.

Il est mort à 92 ans, de 1919-2011 et a eu la chance avec sa femme Evanthia Depasta  née Vasilatou, de donner naissance a une fille,  Mona Moschoula Depasta et de jouir de la  naissance d’un petit-fils Apostolos Kousta, fils de  Dimitrios Koustas et de Moschoula (Mona) Depasta.

(Plus de données historiques à suivre)